A couple of observations to start this blog. I went to get my license renewed yesterday at the DMV. They needed a form of ID, so I gave them my license that they had issued me six years ago. That was no good apparently. I had to have a passport or a birth certificate. You know what I needed to get my passport? My license. It’s a cycle of distrust. That’s like going to the dentist and having the dentist say, “I’m sorry. I’m going to need you to bring in a mold of your teeth to prove that these are your teeth.bullseye

Also, the older woman in front of me named Gladys popped in and out of there as quick as I’ve seen at the DMV. Unbeknownst to the staff there I had seen Gladys pull up in her Buick Century and park at a 45 degree angle across two parking spots as she arrived.

So my second to last prompt was: What is something bigger than your bedroom?

Leah responded:

“My house is bigger than my bedroom.”

 

Thank you Leah, this is indeed inherently true. If it was not true then we’ve lost and the Communists have won. When I was a kid I had to share my room with my two brothers, Jon and Scott. My sister, Cari, had her own room so she could do girly things like sleep comfortably and have things. Ultimately though this seemed fair becau…nevermind, I’m still bitter.

This are the things that were in the boys room:

-Bo Jackson posters and cutouts from Sports Illustrated (every guy my age had a Bo Jackson poster).

-Brookfield Zoo poster (Memento from ‘guy’s’ trip with my dad and brothers to Chicago. It was the trip when I asked my dad what to do with the film once it was full of pictures of kangaroos and he replied, “I dunno, throw it away”).

-Stoplight

-Green carpet the color of the northside of rocks (1′ x 1′ visible to the naked eye)

-One twin bed

-One bunk bed (I got top bunk)

-Three desks

-Three broken wrist casts (Two mine. One Scott’s. My first one had been signed by a stranger who I thought was one of my dad’s friends. That guy is still trying to figure out why the big eared kid with the broken wrist approached him. I think his name was Rick, or something similar like Brian or Eddie)

-1400 baseball cards. (My first “investment” that are now work $43.00. Overhead costs: $41.00)

-A tuft of rabbit or squirrel fur I found in my backyard.

My first room I had to my own was my junior year of college above John’s Grocery. My first apartment by myself came a few years later. Now, I share a room with my wife. She might be the best yet. However, when she is gone I still get a little excited to have my own room.

Next prompt: What is your favorite state capitol?

About jeffhoughton

I'm a sometimes writer, actor, comedian and an all the time adventurer.

4 responses »

  1. Michelle says:

    Juneau, because my dad is there. 🙂

  2. sarahj83 says:

    Montpelier, VT. It’s just fun to say. Mont peeel ierrrr.

  3. Allan says:

    London is by far the coolest capitol. You may accuse me of not following your prompt because you want the best “state” capitol, but let me tell you that London is a capitol of a nation the size of a state; not only that but this small nation ruled the world during Colonialism from London. Now tell me that London isn’t better than any state capitol? How many state capitol’s have conquered neighboring and distant lands? How many state capitols can boast global influence despite a small land presence?

    That’s right, London stands apart as the best capitol, plus they have fun museums and a super creepy Jack The Ripper walking tour!

  4. Leora Rew says:

    You probably made your mom feel really guilty about your bedroom.

Leave a Reply

