Normally, I try to write my posts in 30-45 minutes so I don’t spend too much time thinking about it. Today, I’m writing it in 12 minutes. This may be more random than ever. jeffbracesarticlepic

For my previous prompt I asked: “What is the last thing you recorded on a VHS tape?”

I’ll use Allan’s answer:

 

“I used to tape tv shows all the time on VHS. Like Smallville and Dark Angel. But of course that was before piracy was digitalized and made edgy cool.

I also used to make stop motion movies with my parent’s bulky early 90’s era camcorder. They were awful and hilarious.”

 

I must say that I liked Brian’s suggestion too. It sounded cool and juvenile.

I have a bootleg copy of Chicken Run. I got it when I was living in New York from one of those guys who sell things on sheets on the street. This was right before the digital revolution took off so it was actually just a guy with a camcorder in the movie theater. The dimensions of a camcorder are different than the dimensions of a movie screen, so I couldn’t see the whole thing and it was a little shaky.

Now that everything is digital, I often wonder if archaeologists will find anything from our era. Everything is stored digitally. There isn’t anything real anymore.

Another question I have is that so much of archaeology is cities built upon older cities who are built upon older cities. How does this happen? At what point does the earth just start filling in around us to the point that we don’t recognize that there are buildings around us? How does it happen to the point that we think, “Hey, let’s build on this flat piece of ground, that is only ground with nothing beneath it?” When actually there is an entire city block below.

Top 5 Best Candies

Fruity Mentos

Chewy Spree

Runts (minus banana). I don’t think that they guy who invented fake banana flavoring has ever actually eaten a banana.

Pop Rocks

Sorry that this post was not very good. I bet the next one will be awesome. It’s like a season of Blossom.

Next prompt: What something you like to do when it’s raining outside?

About jeffhoughton

I'm a sometimes writer, actor, comedian and an all the time adventurer.

4 responses »

  1. Jason says:

    Avoid getting wet.

  2. Jenn Rogers says:

    Make meatloaf while my kids play with Play-Doh, being carefully not to allow any Play-Doh into the meatloaf. Although, Play-Doh is edible and non-toxic. It’s raining here now, and this is what we’re currently doing.

  3. derek says:

    I like trying to photograph lightning. Nothing like standing in a large open area with a big metal tripod in an electrical storm.

  4. April says:

    Banana Runts have always been the only Runts for me. Next time you buy some, set the yellow ones aside for next time I happen to see you.

Leave a Reply

