The long wait is over! The Mystery Hour is tonight! Gone are the shackles of a Mystery Hour free summer. In their place are the wings of local comedy. I don’t like giving away the secrets of what is going to be happening at the show, but I should tell you that there will be the latest installment of What is G Norm Saying?!bullseye

Also, I’m going to be in Colorado next week so I don’t know how much I’ll be able to post. Who knows? Maybe more often.

For the last prompt I asked: What is the worst place you have traveled?

I’ll use Allan’s answer:

 

“You know, I have enjoyed most of my traveling adventures that it seems impossible to pick out a specific “worst place” that I’ve visited.

However, I don’t remember my experience driving through Idaho with my family, so I suppose the absolute mind-numbing mediocrity of the Idaho landscape must have been so bad that my brain recorded over it with something awesome; like the exciting thunderstorm over the summer baked Arizona desert. . . (I like to think of my brain cells as unlabeled VHS tapes and my senses as a VCR. . .it may be outdated, but it makes it easier to defend when I don’t remember important events or the names of people)”

 

Idaho, huh? Being from Iowa I’ve heard a lot about Idaho and Ohio. People never seem to get it right. Here’s a sample:

Jeff meets a man at a restaurant.

Jeff: “Hi, I’m Jeff.”

Paul: “Oh, hi Jeff, I’m Paul.”

Jeff: “Nice to meet you, Paul. Where are you from?”

Paul: “I’m from Alabama.”

Jeff: “Oh, great. I have friends in Tuscaloosa and Montgomery. Do you ever get down to the coast? That area is beautiful.”

Paul: “In fact, I’m from Tuscaloosa. You seem to know a lot about it. Have you ever been there?”

Jeff: “No. I just have an adequate knowledge of the geography of my country.”

Paul: “How about you? Where are you from?”

Jeff: “I’m from Iowa.”

Paul: “Oh great, you must get sick of potatoes and cheering on the Buckeyes.”

Jeff: “Actually, you’re referring to Idaho and Ohio.”

Paul: “Yeah, didn’t you say you were from Ohio, Idaho?”

Jeff: “No. I’m from Iowa.”

Paul: “Yeah, that’s what I said.”

Jeff: Actually, it’s a different state. It’s in a different part of the country. The name has different letters in it.”

Paul: “Oh. It must be cold there.”

Jeff: “Yeah, there you go. It can be brutal.”

Paul: “I couldn’t live in Canada.”

Jeff: “I think you’re thinking of Ottawa.”

Paul: “Oh.”

Jeff: “Iowa is its own state located in the Midwest.”

Paul: “You sure you aren’t thinking of Hawaii spelled backwards?”

Jeff: “Yeah, I’m sure. Here, say it with me…I”

Paul: “I”

Jeff: “O”

Paul: “O”

Jeff: “WA”

Paul: “WA”

Jeff: What’s that spell?

Paul: Idaho!

Jeff: You are an idiot.

Paul: Do they speak English there?

Jeff: Yes. Yes, Paul, they do.

Paul: Well, it was good to meet you.

Jeff: Good to meet you too Paul. Good luck with this session of Congress.

Next prompt: What is the last sentence you typed?

About jeffhoughton

I'm a sometimes writer, actor, comedian and an all the time adventurer.

3 responses »

  1. Amanda says:

    In an email to my aunt, referring to my cousins:

    When do Andy and Kayla go back to school?

  2. Amanda says:

    Crap, I just remembered that my cousin Andy graduated this year…. oops.

  3. allan says:

    don’t try to trick me into repeating myself! (well crap there i go again).

Leave a Reply

