November 19, 2009

I’m wearing a new shirt today. I feel a little cooler than usual. If you see me today, please comment to me in a positive manner. It will make it all seem worth it.

For the last prompt I asked: What is your favorite frozen treat?

I will use Katie’s answer:

“Mango mochi ice cream. Chewy balls of cold yum.”

The second sentence sounds like a mistranslation to another language. You know what I’m talking about, when someone will translate English to another language and they get it wrong or it is an exact literal translation, but it doesn’t quite convey the same thing? That is always funny.

I know what mango is and I don’t know what mochi is, but I’m assuming it’s delightful. It sounds like a car name. Mazda Mochi. The key to a good car name is to take a normal word and then replace the last letter with a vowel, or make up a word, or choose a word that best describes the image you want to get across.

Here are some other good car names. Write these down, they may just come true. 

Isuzu Influenza. A sporty hatchback that comes with optional mounted Germ X dispensers instead of cup holders. 

Acura Incontinencia. Plastic covered seats.

Buick Bison. At one time you saw thousands of these in dealerships across the Great Plains. Unfortunately, there are very few left on the road. Leather seating.

Chevy Ozark. Gun rack standard. The bed and the cab are flip flopped. It’s a little backwards.

Dodge Doppler. It will give other cars  a warning right before striking.

Mitsubishi Tibia. This is a sporty line that Mitsubishi came out with that includes the Fibula, ACL, and Achilles.

Chrysler Sinus. Only drawback is that it leaks oil incessantly.

Honda Seal. The car is designed to look exactly like the visage of Seal, the singer.

Ford Apathy. Meh.

Toyota Travesty. Designed to commemorate all the bad things that have happened in your life.

Hummer Howitzer. Hummer decided to embrace their environment killing ways and begin a full on assault. The interior is made out of styrofoam. The engine runs on burning tires and hairspray. It also comes with a rappelling claw to hasten the glaciers crashing into the sea.

Jaguar Status Symbol. It just comes right out and says it.

Dodge You’ll Never Have Enough Success to Please Your Father. Sniffles followed by weeping.

 

Next post: Why do birds suddenly appear, every time you are near?

About jeffhoughton

I'm a sometimes writer, actor, comedian and an all the time adventurer.

2 responses »

  1. Allan says:

    Because I carry birdseed in my pocket.

    A habit I acquired while working in the aviary at the city zoo.
    My favorite bird was the small Carolina Wren. Most people never noticed little Christopher, with his drab brown back and embarrassing orange coloring under his legs. But he always seemed to be the most aggressive during feeding time. Chirping wildly as he would sweep in looking for an opening at the birdseed feeding trough. The bigger birds would crowd him out, denying him a chance to eat so I began carrying birdseed in my pocket to sneak to him while the other birds were distracted.

    (That is why I worked with Francis Bird in the design and contsruction of St. Paul’s Cathedral)

    too many avian puns?

  2. Shanners says:

    “just like me, they long to be close to youuuuuuuuuuuuu”… sorry, I’m not very creative today. 🙂
    Love your car names. 🙂

Leave a Reply

