December 16, 2009

If there is a treat of any kind in front of me, I can’t help but eat it. I have about zero will power. Currently, I am full of chocolate covered raisins and chocolate covered almonds. Too much of a good thing. I heard that our rap, “Pizza and Applesauce” was on the radio this morning. Radioplay, that’s a big first step. I know the DJs of the morning show and had e-mailed it to them, but still. I feel like Frankie Valenz, only good things happened to him.

For the last prompt I asked: What was your favorite subject in elementary school?

I will use Katya’s answer:

“We had a dance class in elementary school. It was my favorite, and I always participated in every dance performance we had to do for school”

Katya, welcome to the commenting fold. You will find that they are a hearty, friendly people. Did you know that every person commenting for the first time gets a free oil change at Pepboys in your local area? Just print off a screen shot of this website with your comment and bring it in with you. Pepboys will feign ignorance. They’ll pretend like they’ve never heard of it, but they have, oh they have, big time.

I didn’t take dance class in elementary school. Wait, maybe I did for P.E. once. I do remember our school’s prehistoric production of “Where There’s a Wheel There’s a Way.” Alex “Sultry Voice” Vermillion had the lead. I believe I was an unnamed chorus member. Here’s what I remember from the title song, “Where there’s a wheel there’s a way/There’s always a waaay/ What would you do without a wheel?/Not very well I’d say!” It’s true if you think about it.

My mom, however, was a dance teacher while I was growing up, so there was plenty of dance all around me. She never made us kids take lessons or anything, so I don’t have that baggage. She would have her dance recital every year that we were supposed to attend.

I love dancing. Here are my top favorite dancing moments of my life (in no particular order):

1. Solon Beef Days. In high school two of my friends, Ben and Jesse, and I went to the small town outdoor festival. It was on their main street and they had carnival rides and a band playing in a band shell. I don’t remember their name, but it was something like, “Steer Clear.” There was a “teen dance” going on down the street with a DJ set up on the corner, but to our dismay there was not a soul dancing. We decided to take it over and get the party started. Within a few minutes of dancing there were people literally three deep watching us dance. They had never seen anything like it. Eventually it all filled in with people and the party had begun. Quote: I remember a couple of girls who claimed to be from California say to me, “You could dance with the brothers.”

Young Life Castaway Club. JJ “Crazy Legs” Alberhasky and were doing program in 2001and we did a rendition of “Pop” by ‘NSync inthat blew the roof off the place. People that were there almost remember it. Again, pre-YouTube days. Quote: “That guy moves like Lance Bass.”

2. Wedding Reception. This was my favorite wedding dance party ever. In the middle my wife grabbed the mic and spontaneously rapped the entire “Whatta Man” song to me while standing on a chair. By the end of the reception I triumphantly threw my shirt off for a great exit, stalled only by having to wait for the elevator. Quote: “My man is smooth like Barry and his voice got bass, a body like Arnold with a Denzel face.”

3. Dance Off. It was late on a Saturday night. Downtown Iowa City. I was standing outside a pizza slice place when I spontaneously got into a dance off with a guy on the sidewalk. He was very good. I’m not sure I won. My friend shot a video and it’s somewhere online, but it was pre-YouTube so I don’t know where to find it. Quote: “He can’t dance with the brothers.”

4. Yakov Angel Dance. I was briefly in Yakov Smirnoff’s Branson show, on Sundays, during the fall, 2 years ago. I had to sing and dance. Well, I had to lip sync and dance. Well, I had to lip sync and kind of dance. I was in a white tux with wings and a top hat, with another comedian and about 12 Russian actual dancers. I thought I fared all right, however, I’ve seen the video and I couldn’t dance as well and I towered over them, making me look like an arthritic giant. Quote: “Hey Adam, did you know you can sue people in heaven?” “Really?” “Yeah, but good luck finding a lawyer up here.”

Surprise Roommate. One time in college I decided that I needed to dance so I pushed all the furniture out of the way, cranked up Jock Jams and got to dancing. I had my shirt off and my back turned when my roommate, JJ, having quietly walked in, said softly, “Jeff?” Quote: “What’s wrong with you?”

Next prompt: What is something you have to often do that you aren’t very good at?

About jeffhoughton

I'm a sometimes writer, actor, comedian and an all the time adventurer.

5 responses »

  1. Katie says:

    Drive my car.

  2. Katya says:

    If I had a car, I’d totally use the Pepboys offer! haha 🙂

    My answer: Speak without accent

  3. Amanda says:

    Call people on the phone. Talk eloquently in person.

  4. allan says:

    grocery shop. i have trouble planning ahead and i don’t write out lists, so i forget to buy important items while impulsively buying food items i don’t need.

  5. sarahj83 says:

    improv. because girls aren’t funny, right? ZING!

Leave a Reply

