January 1, 2010

Happy New Year! This is it, the start of a new day, a new year, and a new decade. It really is crazy to believe that 2000 was 10 years ago. I wasn’t planning on posting anything today because it would get in the way of my sleep, football, and general nothingness today.

However, I’ve been inspired by all of the end of the decade and year end countdowns. The only problem is that they all come out at once so they aren’t unique, and there are too many of them. So, I decided that I would get a head start and be the first one to come out with my Best of 2010 List today. Sure 2010 is just a newborn, but it’s breathing and healthy, so we should smack it on the butt and get started.

Best of 2010

Party of the Year. Post midnight portion of a New Year’s party from last night. There was wine, cheese and crackers, and even a talent show. Plus, there were appearances by select members of the bands Mute Math and Eisley. So far, there hasn’t even been a comparison.

Meal of the Year. Two consecutive bowls of Raisin Nut Bran for breakfast this morning. It’s not everyday that I allow myself two consecutive bowls, but it’s 2010 baby! Close second was 5 Spice China Grill, but I had to share that meal with my wife.

Nap of the Year. Rose Bowl nap. Every year I drift in and out of consciousness during the Rose Bowl, but something about it this year made it the nap of the year. Maybe because it was that nap sleep where you can still here everything that’s going on around you. Terelle Pryor figured prominently in my dreams.

Quote of the Year. “Oooh, that was a weird tasting burp.” -Me, from five seconds ago. Followed closely by, “You know why Viggo Mortenson is a good actor? Imperfect teeth.” Me from one second ago.

Person of the Year. Arin Gilbert. He was wearing great shoes today.

Show of the Year. Pawn Stars. This show started the year out strong and continues through to this day, meaning the History Channel had a marathon today.

Wedding of the Year. The one I went to. Yes, on New Year’s Day. 

Drink of the Year. The punch at the wedding. It had sherbet, ginger ale, and the surprise of blueberries.

Blog Post of the Year. This was a toughie, but I decided on the Best of the Year, 2010 blog. 

Surprise of the Year. The morning. It was unexpected and unwelcome. A close second was the fact that I ironed my clothes for a New Year’s Day wedding.

Saying of the Year. “Attack 2010 Like a Rabid Jungle Hen.”

About jeffhoughton

I'm a sometimes writer, actor, comedian and an all the time adventurer.

Leave a Reply

