April 22, 2010

Man, I have been sucky at this blog thing lately. I can’t keep promising to change without actually changing. I can’t expect you to keep taking me back. But, please, take me back, just one more time.

For the last prompt I asked, what celebrity did you love when you were a teenager?

I will use Angela’s answer:

“Danny Bonaduce, the spunky smart mouthed redheaded bass player for the Partridge Family. Everyone else was hot for David Cassidy. But not me. I was dreamy eyed for the super smart, super funny guy, not the pretty boy…Danny. Nothing much has changed after all these years. Funny is way hotter than abs.”

Angela, let me be the first to welcome you to the fold. Congrats on your first post. We are a hearty, welcoming people and greet you with open arms, followed with a “Danny Bonaduce? Really?” I’ve seen maybe two episodes of the Partridge Family, it was before my time, and then came back in reruns after my time.

I loved Nick at Nite when I was a kid. I would often watch at my grandma and grandpa’s house in the back room as I was going to sleep. It was quite the treat because they had a hide-a-bed, and I didn’t have a tv in my room at my parent’s house. I would watch, The Dick Van Dyke Show, The Donna Reed Show, Get Smart, Mr. Ed, Car 54, Dobie Gillis, My Three Sons, The Patty Duke Show, and Laugh-In. So you can imagine how the next day at school, I was the coolest. “Hey guys, can you imagine identical cousins? They laugh alike, they walk alike, at times they even talk alike?” Pretty soon the other students were chanting my name…followed by “sucks.”

Now, as to your last line, “Funny is way hotter than abs,” why are you in the minority on this? This should be common knowledge. Every week it seems like they come out with a new ab exerciser, but maybe they should be funneling their money into exercise equipment that tones your sense of humor.

Here is a list of other things that should be hotter than abs:

-Ability to use Microsoft Excel. “Ooh, check out that spreadsheet? Did that hottie use Autosum? Mmmm…I think he did”

-Parallel parking skills. “I’m not even motion sick. Grrrrr”

-6 pack forehead wrinkles. “I can’t see abs very often, but forehead wrinkles are there for the taking every day.”

-Freakishly blonde eyebrows. “Jeff Houghton is the hottest of them all.”

-Saved by the Bell knowledge. “He just wows me with tales of the Saved by the Bell crew living in Indiana early on. They all moved to California except Mikey, Nicki, and Ms. Bliss? That’s crazy.”

-Ability to tell the difference between like sodas. “He said to the waiter, ‘Gross, this is Mr. Pibb.’ And the waiter’s all, ‘it’s the same thing.’ But it’s not, it’s not the same thing. Hubba hubba.”

-Ability to spot continuity errors in movies. “He can tell if Leonard DiCaprio has his hair swished to one side in one shot and the other side in another shot. You would think it would be annoying, but it’s not. It’s hot.”

-Kindness. Nevermind, that’s too outlandish.

Next prompt: What is your significant other’s most annoying habit?

About jeffhoughton

I'm a sometimes writer, actor, comedian and an all the time adventurer.

3 responses »

  1. Jenn says:

    Believe it or not, Grant has absolutely no annoying habits. Given that you know Grant, you probably believe it.

  2. danclair says:

    My significant other’s most annoying habit is how dang quiet she is. I mean, she’s never said a word to me. Ever. And she never calls me or texts me. Oh wait, I don’t have a significant other.

  3. Amanda says:

    Ryan snores. I am a very light sleeper. This causes problems.

Leave a Reply

