May 17, 2010

Aloha! I just got back from…you guessed it…Chicago. My birthday is coming up so Michelle surprised me. I knew I was going out of town this weekend and I knew what I had to pack, but that was it. It turns out we were eating pineapple and ham…in Chicago. We went to a Cubs game, we went to a blues bar, we went to a movie, and I got to see a lot of my family. Now I have to try to compete with that birthday surprise, when it is Michelle’s birthday in a month. I am open to suggestions.

I did not get any answers to my last prompt, so that means it is a free for all! As exciting as that sounds, it actually means that I have to think for myself, which is difficult and dangerous. What have I been thinking about lately?

How about a comparison between Chicago and Springfield.

Chicago

Sears Tower, one of the tallest buildings in the world, with two distinctive red and white poles at the top.

Springfield

Hammons Tower, the tallest building in Springfield, looks like a pixelated mushroom.

Chicago

Known as the Second City

Springfield

Known as the Second Hand City, for the antiquated smoking in bars/restaurants laws.

Chicago

Michigan Avenue, known for it’s upscale shopping district, where people can buy Ralph Lauren and Hugo Boss.

Springfield

Battlefield Mall, known for it’s upscale tent sales where people can buy rugs and fine art.

Chicago

Boasts countless suburbs

Springfield

Nixa has a Walgreens

Chicago

‘Magnificent’ Mile

Springfield

‘Fantastic’ Caverns

Chicago

Millenium Park

Springfield

Must find money to build a park in the next millenium

Chicago

Has the Taste of Chicago, a sampling of the best food the city has to offer.

Springfield

Has Mexican Villa, a sampling of the “best” “food” the “city” has to offer.

Chicago

Has the El Train, a subway system briskly taking citizens around

Springfield

Has L-Train, a homeless man who briskly takes citizen’s wallets

Chicago

Home to the Oprah Winfrey show, a groundbreaking talk show, seen by millions, featuring a popular Book Club

Springfield

Home of The Mystery Hour, a copycat talk show, seen by tens, featuring a nerdy blog

Chicago

Navy Pier. A mixed use tourist attraction featuring, restaurants, shopping, even a Ferris Wheel

Springfield

Ozark Empire Fairgrounds. A mixed use tourist attraction featuring various meats on sticks, carnies, even a Ferris Wheel that you do not want to get on if you value your life. At all.

Chicago

Nicknamed the ‘Windy City’

Springfield

Nicknamed the ‘City with Nine Wendy’s’

Chicago

Birthplace of actor John Cusack

Springfield

Birthplace of actor Brad Pitt. Eat it Chicago.

Next prompt: What do you order from Subway?

About jeffhoughton

I'm a sometimes writer, actor, comedian and an all the time adventurer.

5 responses »

  1. michelle says:

    I like that last one…

  2. sarahj83 says:

    spot on. you should write tourism booklets.
    i was in the same room with Doug Pitt last week. That felt special.

    I just turned vegetarian 2 months ago, so at Subway I get Veggie Delite — also my stripper name.

  3. allan says:

    i actually avoid subway because i always preferred jommy johns… but there are no jimmy johns in california, so i make my own sandwiches… either pb&j or salami, mustard and Kraft american singles (just one plastic wrapped slice, despite the plural us of single).

    but subway does have baked lays. mmm, baked lays.

  4. allan says:

    man, i wish my typo had been “jammy johns” instead of “jommy johns”. i want to imagine people making sandwiches in full length adult footsie pajamas (are they called roos?). super fast and super comfy. . .

  5. Chad says:

    L-Train! LOL

    I went to Subway for breakfast the other day and the “Eat Fresh” positioning really resonated with my microwaved hot biscuits for Biscuits and Gravy. I imagine Jarrod would not look fondly at my menu selection.

Leave a Reply

