June 3, 2010

We’ve had a guest change for the show tomorrow night. State Representative Sara Lampe’s appearance will be postponed to the fall. She had something come up last minute. She will eventually be a great guest on the show, but it won’t be tomorrow night. Besides, she hasn’t won any Emmy’s. In her place, we now have Nichole Lemmon, who teaches media at Central High School and has won multiple Emmy’s. How has she done that? Come to the show to find out! Tomorrow night! Season Finale!

For the last prompt I asked, “What are you most looking forward to in June?”

I will use Amanda’s answer:

“The ONE coolest thing?!? How will I ever choose? For starters I am celebrating my birthday this Sunday with trivia at Patton Alley Pub. Then the next weekend I am going to a wedding in St. Louis of one of my boyfriend’s pledge brothers from college. We will go to the City Museum while we are there (that could potentially be the coolest thing… but just wait). Then the next weekend I am going to Table Rock Lake with some awesome family friends (also has huge potential to be the coolest thing… but not quite). Then the next weekend I am going to Minnesota to visit some family (this is not the coolest thing because my cousin who I have a matching tattoo with will not be there). While we are in MN we’ll be going to a charity golf tournament called the Good Guy Open. My dad’s college friends organize it and it’s in its 13th year. It was inspired when one of the college friends died of cancer 14 years ago. They all decided to play golf in his honor the weekend of the funeral and thought, wouldn’t this be a great way to raise money for families dealing with cancer? So every year they put together this golf tournament which raises around $30,000 annually to give to families who are dealing with cancer. The friend who passed away was an all-around “good guy”, hence the name Good Guy Open. My job at the tournament is to “monitor” the hole-in-one hole with my friends. If anybody gets a hole-in-one they win $10,000. It has never happened in the past 12 years of the tournament, but we will be there to witness it should it ever happen. This activity is also known as drinking and BS-ing with the golf teams all day long. And that is the coolest thing I’m doing in June.”

Holy cow! That is the longest comment ever posted on this website. Congrats. I should just stop now and let that stand as the blog post, but I will not. I think that comment points to a big difference between men and women. A man could be writing about the same events, and it would look completely different. Let’s try it shall we.

Here is an interpretation of the same events mentioned if written by a guy.

-“The ONE coolest thing?!? How will I ever choose? For starters I am celebrating my birthday this Sunday with trivia at Patton Alley Pub.

Translation: The one coolest things is going to a bar, having a beer, and answering some questions.

-Then the next weekend I am going to a wedding in St. Louis of one of my boyfriend’s pledge brothers from college. We will go to the City Museum while we are there (that could potentially be the coolest thing… but just wait).

Translation: Going to Chet’s wedding, should be ballin’

-Then the next weekend I am going to Table Rock Lake with some awesome family friends (also has huge potential to be the coolest thing… but not quite).

Translation: PBR at TRL

-Then the next weekend I am going to Minnesota to visit some family (this is not the coolest thing because my cousin who I have a matching tattoo with will not be there). While we are in MN we’ll be going to a charity golf tournament called the Good Guy Open. My dad’s college friends organize it and it’s in its 13th year. It was inspired when one of the college friends died of cancer 14 years ago. They all decided to play golf in his honor the weekend of the funeral and thought, wouldn’t this be a great way to raise money for families dealing with cancer? So every year they put together this golf tournament which raises around $30,000 annually to give to families who are dealing with cancer. The friend who passed away was an all-around “good guy”, hence the name Good Guy Open. My job at the tournament is to “monitor” the hole-in-one hole with my friends. If anybody gets a hole-in-one they win $10,000. It has never happened in the past 12 years of the tournament, but we will be there to witness it should it ever happen. This activity is also known as drinking and BS-ing with the golf teams all day long. And that is the coolest thing I’m doing in June.”

Translation: Going to something in Wisconsin or something.

Next prompt: What do you get most irrationally excited about?

About jeffhoughton

I'm a sometimes writer, actor, comedian and an all the time adventurer.

4 responses »

  1. danclair says:

    irrationally excited?? hmm…i’d have to say zombies. i have an indescribable fascination with zombies and zombie movies. i don’t know what it is i love about them so much. i just do. that’s probably the strangest thing about me.

  2. Heather says:

    Books. New books. Old books. Books in stacks. Books on a shelf. Bookstores. Book clubs. Scholastic Book orders back in elementary school. Books.

    Oh, and Elvis Presley in Jailhouse Rock.

  3. jenksie says:

    GLEE.

Leave a Reply

