October 18, 2010

I have not done this for at least a week. I was out of town last week. Maybe you’re saying to yourselves, but I’m sure they have the internet where you went. True. Moving on.

Plus, this is my 200th post! I wanted to make this a good (mediocre) one! That is 200 times I have typed out my thoughts without filtering for the most part. Damn Italians. See, no filter. I have never stuck with anything this long since my Oxy pads were a necessity in ’92. Let’s see if we can make this a good one.

For the last prompt I asked, “What do you remember from English class?”

I will use Allan’s answer:

“apparently not much. On Monday my parents initiated the final child cleansing protocol for their home (it is now no longer mine) by asking me to come collect the assorted items I had left behind in my former room that had just been transformed into a new rustic office. As I sorted through the various souvenirs of my adolescence I came across old journals, papers and poems I had written for my high school English classes. I always thought I had avoided the shallow, moody phase that accompanied teenage angst. Boy did I prove myself wrong.”

Ouch, that is a milestone, when your parents clean out your room and turn it into a computer room/office. For the kids, what that really means is that it is now the room they are calling you from when they can’t figure out why the solitaire machine isn’t working. In high school everything is amplified so much, the highs are higher and the lows are lower. Sometimes I actually long for that. Perspective makes you a little more melancholy.

Let’s journey back and then forward to compare a journal entry from my teenage era with a journal entry from a teenager today.

Past Teenager on October 18, 1994

I’m writing this with a new pen I just got. School sucked today. Mom dropped me off late and I was tardy for Science, you know what that means–detention. I saw Bethany today and she was smoking hot in her black high top Adidas, bag phone over her shoulder, really high bangs, and flannel shirt. Yahoo! I got up the courage to write her a note. After school I had cross country practice, which was really tiring. Mom was late picking me up and I had to sit there forever, until finally I went to the pay phone and made a collect call. I came home and watched TV, but I missed most of Seinfeld because my grandparents were visiting.

Present Teenager on October 18, 2010

I’m writing this on my iPad. School sucked today. I drove my 2009 Kia Sorrento to school today, got there right on time, you know what that means-nothing really. I saw Bethany today and she was smoking hot in her stilletos, iPhone, short bangs, and flannel shirt. Yahoo! was the e-mail service provider I used to send her an e-mail. After school I had cross country practice, which was really not so tiring because of my specialized Gatorade products for use before, during, and after for optimal performance. I drove my Kia Sorrento home and texted my mom all the way there. I came home and watched TV, but I had to pause Curb Your Enthusiasm because my grandparents were visiting. I got to watch it all later.

Future Teenager on October 18, 2026

I’m writing this with my mind. School sucked today. I drove my Segway to school today, I was like a half hour late–you know what that means-solitary confinement. I saw Bethany2RZ today and she was smoking hot because her motherboard needed to be replaced. She was wearing Crocs (retro), EyePhone, shaved top of head, and a flannel shirt (back again). Google! I got up the courage to connect ponytails with her and tell her how I really feel. After school I had cross country practice, which was not so tiring because of my titanium ankles. I drove my Segway home thinking good thoughts to my mom on the way. I came home and watched computer, but my grandparents were visiting so I had to pause them. When I re-energized them we had a great time.

Really Future Teenager on October 18, 2142

1011010100010101010111010101010101110101010101010000001111101101010101011010111111010101010101001010101010101000101010101010110101011010101010101

Next prompt: What will 2011 bring for you or the world?

About jeffhoughton

I'm a sometimes writer, actor, comedian and an all the time adventurer.

2 responses »

  1. Heather says:

    Hopefully the end of people being able to make fake glasses out of the year. I thought it would come with 2010 and the end of the double zeroes in the middle, but someone always finds a way to take things one step too far. Surely now it’ll really be over – except maybe in the cyclops and pirate markets, but I don’t hang out with many of them, so I should be alright.

  2. Jc carley says:

    Not sure if you get (or care about) comments from old post but I am writing them anyway. Your thought about parents calling you to ask how to work things made me think of my new . I think every technological item should come with two manuals. When placing an order for an item, let’s say a point and shoot camera, you give them your address for the item and one manual and you give them a second address telling them where to send the second manual. That way when my mom calls me asking how to used said item, I can find the answer and explain it to her faster.

Leave a Reply

