February 24, 2011

Alright, I’m back and feeling bloggery. It’s a good thing. I’m now in the Pacific Time Zone as I made my cross country trip across the country on a trip. I’ve done it twice before. Once, with my parents and my brother when my dad, after many years, finally decided that he was done flying. There’s a certain romance to hitting the open road, and then there’s also a certain reality. 

Here are my observations from the road:

-I only know about 30% of the words to every song I sing along to

-Oklahoma City actually does exist. Someone owes me $5.

-Do not, under any circumstances stay in room 237 of the Travelodge motel in Amarillo, TX. No reason. Stop asking.

-Motel remotes are always 45% the size of a regular remote.

-It is a necessity in a motel room to spend at least 15 minutes unceremoniously naked.

-Keep gummy bears out of the sun in your car. They become gummy Pangea.

-Arizona looks like the inside of an unkempt terrarium

-No matter how far you’re going, you will hear a new rattle in your car about 3/4 of the way through the drive.

-Do not, under any circumstances stay in room 118 in the Howard Johnson’s in Flagstaff, AZ. No reason. Stop asking.

-When someone passes you on the interstate, why does the person in the passenger seat have to look you in the eye? What are they expecting to see?

Next prompt: What gym class activity were you best at?

About jeffhoughton

I'm a sometimes writer, actor, comedian and an all the time adventurer.

2 responses »

  1. Scott Kirchner says:

    Easy! Calf stretches and sit and reach! Bring it on! I will still own everyone at both of those!!

  2. Amanda says:

    I was really good at creating excuses to not have to participate in gym class.

Leave a Reply

